The Truth Thus Far


I ate a fish ovary… yea i know
December 7, 2008, 6:38 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized
SNOW!
SNOW!

Today was officially the first snow. I love it…for now. Snow and I have that kind of relationship. It’s cool for about  a week, and then I’m over it. I also love it because it means it’s not quite as cold out…

Anyway, On Friday I spent the day not giving a shit and saying goodbye to all of last semesters little brats. I’m so glad to see some of them graduate and go to the middle school, but also a little scared that I’ll hafta teach some of my younger students again this semester. I bought donuts for one class, and they said to me, “50C Teacher, you’re cheap. You bought Dunking and not Krispy Kreme!” I wanted to punch a few.

I got my schedule for this semester. It’s kinda crappy and yet still okay at the same time…I think. I teach fewer classes. I have 6 spares, which means there’s six class spots a week that I don’t have to teach…at least I’ll finally be able grade things. I’m gonna go in early tomorrow to clean out my desk and get more organized. Yay! I am excited to have new students, but I got a lot of low level reading classes…and the rest of my classes are just regular reading. I HATE reading classes. Too boring. Then a few days after Christmas we start intensives- that means work from 12 till 10pm every day. I refuse to go…but we’ll see how that works out.

Friday, after work Danny came over again for a 24 marathon. He’d never seen it but I was sure he’d get addicted. We invited over Lynsie and Aaron and ordered some pizzas and drank the Dr. Pepper I found at the grocery store near my house that I never knew existed. I kicked them out, and then Danny and I stayed up till 6am watching 24 Season 1 (which I’ve seen twice already). He would have stayed up longer if I wasnt so tired. I finally got the cord to hook up my computer to my tv and so we had a sweet setup. Reluctantly, we went to bed (in separate rooms!).

Chingus!
Chingus!

In the morning we woke up and went to Myeongdong to buy new phone accessories. Previously, we both had this heart charm that Vanessa gave us…it was a kind of friendship charm…but everyone kept asking if we were a couple so we decided that we should change it. So this time we shelled out a big 1,000won ($1) for cute kitties. It was FREEEEEEZING…so I bought ear muffs and let Danny pick out some gloves for me. My feet were still frozen tho and I was miserably cold.

A Korean French Fry(ish)
A Korean French Fry(ish)

D and Sung Jin on Swing Chairs
D and Sung Jin on Swing Chairs

After buying our friendship charms we met one of Danny’s roomies at a coffee shop in Suwon (near D’s university). When he left we waited for Sexy Sung Jin to come have dinner with us. Sung Jin, an adorable first year who I’m sure is still afraid of girls, finally agreed to meet me. I’m making progress. He usta run away when he saw me. His English isn’t very good at all, but I just tease him a lot and he seems to get the gist. He’s so cute. Like a puppy! We had cheesy kimchi over rice….YUM! I told Sung Jin I’d pay if he kissed me. Sung Jin nearly died. I paid anyway.

Danny ran into his senior at the restaurant. He was having dinner with his girlfriend. When he asked Danny what he was up to, Danny lied and said he was having dinner with his girlfriend- ME! Sung Jin giggled and I just waved (not knowing what they were talking about). D’s senior looked totally shocked so it was kinda funny in retrospect. D’s dating a black girl…SCANDAL! haha. I wonder what he was actually thinking.

That's My Pat Bing Su!

That's My Pat Bing Su!

Later, we headed to a little place to eat Korea’s version ice cream (팥빙수, Pal Bing Su). It’s like shaved ice with jam and fruit on top. It’s delicious…although I don’t understand why there was a tomato in it. I continued to try making Sung Jin laugh because I was afraid he was bored. He can’t really talk in English much, and so Danny had to translate EVERYTHING i said….poor Danny. (i dont know why this paragraph is italicized)
My New Phone Guy

Yay!
Pat Bing Su Laugh

Pat Bing Su Laugh

Pat Bing Su

Pat Bing Su

Me and Sung Jin

Me and Sung Jin

Today I woke at noon, just in time to be late for my Korean lesson. I learned some new things like ” The bookstore is near the library. The library is in front of the hospital.” Stuff like that. I’m quite proud of my progress. Yesterday I had a “conversation” with a cab driver.

Ian Last Weekend

Ian Last Weekend

After lessons I left to meet Ian (speaking of Ian, check out that hot picture of him from last week) and Basillia (a Korean teacher from my hagwon known as “hot teacher”). We were supposta meet Aaron and Lynsie too but neither of us called them. Ian thought I had..I thought he had. Anyway, we were sans A&L, but I had fun anyway. We went to this amazing Chinese restaurant near Honkuk University station. We ordered SOO much food because both Ian and I are fat kids at heart. The last dish he ordered was…interesting. He asked me if I ate egg…and I said “yes,” but I thought he meant egg egg…but he meant fish ovaries and fish intestines…not the same. I tried both. The intestines were kinda good, but the ovaries looked like the inside of a penis and had the texture of meat so it creeped me out. After dinner we got more food and drank some Korean Rice Wine (which is like carbonated milk…pretty good) at a place where the ajummas kept cursing and cracking jokes. Then after that we had ice cream Coldstone. I had a fat day today.

Rice Wine

Rice Wine

Korean Rice Wine

Korean Rice Wine

Ever

Ian wont let me take pics anymore

Ian wont look at me

EVER

Basillia

Basillia aka Hot Teacher

Ovaries and Intestines

Ovaries and Intestines

When I got home I wrote D’s essay for him. He’s got some English class he needed help with. I don’t mind. He bought me a delicious lunch yesterday to make up for it, and it was too easy for me. Now, I’m doing this.

It’s 2:20am so I should go to bed now. Early(ier) day tomorrow.

NIGHT! 잘자!

Ps. Check out these ghetto FUBU subway cars. bahahaah. yes.

FUBU Train

FUBU Train

Fubu Subway

Fubu Subway

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

woah that is hella mad crazy ghetto yo.

Comment by roomie

ps you are disgusting. i would never touch those intestines… once i accidentally ate skewered chicken hearts and almost threw up.

Comment by roomie

pps. i’m lonely roomie. so lonely. and sad. lonely and sad.

Comment by roomie




Leave a Reply

