The Truth Thus Far


“I love black people skin!”
Yes We Did!

Yes We Did!

Wa, 50CS Teacher! Waaaa! As my students would say to show their disapproval (generally only used when I’m singing or telling a bad joke). Now I’m saying WA! because I’ve really dropped the ball lately on this whole updating thing. I have been a little busy, but no excuses. Mostly I’m just too lazy. Hmm…so what’s happened recently.

Well…I now have a least a little faith in my county. OBAMA F’in DID IT! I stayed up all night checking his stats, and woke up early in the morning to watch some election madness. Only I was disappointed because they were playing some stupid children’s cartoon on AFN (American Forces Network), the only channel that is completely in English. I screamed a little and spent an hour trying to find somewhere to watch the election stuff online. I finally settled for the constant refreshing of CNN.com. I was pleased with what I saw. Finally at about 11am AFN started playing ABC news. By about 12:50 Korea time I was told that Obama was my new president. I screamed so loud I’m sure I worried the neighbors. I cried every time they showed a Black person on television, and I started feeling a bit homesick. No one to scream with. No one could really understand my feelings. I’m the only Black teacher at my hagwon (i think…although their may or may not be a black/korean guy in my office), and one of a few Americans. I instantly called Falco and we screamed together a bit.

It was such an emotional day. I contemplated calling in sick to work…taking a “YAY! Black people!” day, but in the end I just toughed it out. It was nice though, because all of the kids were so excited that Obama won. Since I was Black they made it a point to bring it up every moment of the day. “Jenny teacher, I love Black people skin. You…Obama. Yay! Black people!” or as one 7 year old said “Obama win. Black people sooo happy.” The general mood in S. Korea is that Obama winning is absolutely a good thing. As my kids told me, Mccain is bald. They don’t dig the baldies too much here. But many are worried about Obama’s proposed Open Trade policy with Korea. They live off of their exports, and if those drop then they are in trouble. Personally I think they’ll be f***ed for a while, but in the long run a strong American economy is best for them too. But then again…what do I know.

His gift of TP for my house (Korean custom)

His gift of TP for my house (Korean custom)

Change of subject. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this but I absolutely have a new best friend. Dae Hyuk and I have been like this-close-only-he’s-over-there for a month now. We talk every single day, and every weekend he’s free he crashes at my apartment. I bought him a bed and everything, and he has his own room which is nice. No no no no no no…its NOT like that…no matter what Falco tells you. Our relationship is entirely platonic!!! I must admit though, its nice to have such a close friend here. Other than him and Vanessa I’m a little lonely here somtimes. Plus, he’s Korean and a boy so I can make him do all the things I cant do. Order food for me late at night. Take out my disgusting garbage (that had been sitting outside for a month) and clean up the maggots that had grown all over the bag…. And next weekend he’s showing me how to make Korean food. He was a chef in the army. I just wish he didn’t live 2 hours away! It’d be much more convenient. Thank goodness I have a spare room.

Anywho, he came over again this weekend. He met me at my hagwon at 9:30 like he normally does. All of my coworkers were like…”He comes so often. Is he your boyfriend?” I unsuccessfully convinced him that he was NOT. Then we headed over to Ron’s apartment (Ron’s a Korean American with a VERY thick Valley accent and absolutely no Korean speaking skills) and played Playstation 3 and drank wine. Then we (Ron 28, Ron’s friend Bruce 26, Aaron my coworker 24, and Aarons gf Lindsay 23) headed to a bar for food and chatting.

Ron sniff ours awesome pitcher of beer.

Ron sniff ours awesome pitcher of beer.

Ron wouldnt stop talking about his job working at sex-shop and other sex related things. It was mad awkward with a Korean in our midst since talking about that stuff is pretty taboo. Danny just laughed it off, and thank goodness he didnt understand most of it. It was REALLY uncomfortable explaining things to him and so finally he just asked me to stop. Then Ian, a Korean teacher from my hagwon, came and joined us. We begged him to norebang (singing room) with us, and he refused. So, we got him drunk and then he willingly busted out with some old school Korean rap and a little Greenday. It was maaad fun. We stayed at the norebang until about 4am, then headed off to eat some delicious foods.

We had clams. YUUUUUM! But it was prepared in a more traditional Korean way. AAAALIIIIVE! They just throw live clams over some coals and you wait until their shells pop open. I screamed “WHY IS IT MOVING” cuz at first they wiggle about a bit and its a little gross. But a few seconds later the wiggling stops and they just looking f***ing delicious. I ate so many I nearly sick. Ron continued talking about sex and penis and other inappropriate things. He was so drunk (off of his 2 bottles of wine and a million beers/soju shots) that we all just ignored him. Finally Danny and I split (the last ones other than Ian) at 5:30am and headed back to my apartment. We talked until about 6:30 and then went to bed (Danny in his room of course!).

Lins and Aaron

Lins and Aaron

Me and Bruce Norebanging It!

Me and Bruce Norebanging It!

Ron and Brucey

Ron and Brucey

a few beers later....

a few beers later....

Getting Ian ready for norbanging!

Getting Ian ready for norbanging!
Me and Dae Hyuk

Me and Dae Hyuk

The next day was Saturday. Danny and I woke up at like 1pm and stumbled out of bed and out to Hyewa station for lunch. Kimchi stew (김치 찌개) for me, and Udon for him. Afterwards I treated him to some Haagen Daz because it was the first one I’d seen since I got to Korea. It was SOOO good. He loved it. Much better than Baskin Robbins (which is EVERYWHERE here…but they use fake sugar EW!). I had plans to meet Won Seok, and so I abandoned Danny and met WS in Suwon. We ate dinner at a beer lounge and then went to see Mama Mia (which is RETARDED by the way). It was his suggestion. Afterward I met back up with Danny and we rode the 2 hour train ride back to my apartment.

SOOO FAR!! That’s where Danny lives- wish he lived closer. We’d left on the Subway to late and the last train stopped well before my house. So we stood outside in the cold for a while before randomly finding a bus to Junggye. We got off too early on accident and walked around until we found a cab. We grabbed some fries at McD, and got uber excited for the pizza we’d be getting form our favorite pizza joint. Only at 1:30am it was actually closed! BLAST! So we went back to my apartment and spent a good hour calling every pizza place in a 20 mile radius. We failed. So we ate cup noodle and potato chips and watched She’s the Man (his suggestion, even though I wont lie… I love Amanda B!) The next morning Danny headed back to Suwon and I left for my Korean lessons.

Min Hye and BF

Min Hye and BF

Min Hye (my tutor) and her boyfriend took me out after my lesson to get some amazing Korea food. First they ordered some soup that’s traditional to eat for a hangover. Starts with a B but I dont remember the name. Its delicious (if you like fish)! Then they ordered some fried, battered, and sauced fish for the main meal. AHHH SOOOO GOOOOD! We talked for like 2 hours until the guy at the restaurant kind of signaled for us to leave. We went to Paris Croissant (apparently only located in super posh areas of town) for Oreo Cheesecake and Pumpkin Walnut something pie. SOOOOOOO good. Min Hye asked me about prom and told me how jealous she was that we get to wear prom dresses. She was disappointed to find out that I didn’t go to mine. Bleh, anyway, that’s that.

Now its Monday (actually Tuesday since its so late). The kids were surprisingly uninteresting today so nothing to report on that front.

I’ll try to update more regularly so that my posts don’t have to be so long. This one’ll take a few days for ya’ll to read.

Alright well gnight (잘자!)

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

its tuesday there… monday here…
YOU’RE IN THE FUTURE!!!!!!AHHHHH!!!!

Comment by brazil

haha yea. but unfortunately the future is just as boring as the present.

Comment by thetruththusfar

hope the new US president will done whathe always mentioned “Change”. Easy said than Done…

Comment by mickyarba

yea i completely agree with ya micky. honestly i dont really think there is much he CAN do considering the current state of our country. i doubt he’ll be able to bring any serious change other than possibly stabilizing the economy. other than that just the fact that he’s not some rich white guy is a pretty big change. although if he f***s this up black people will never be allowed to do anything again. ANYTHING! so lets hope he does a good job.

Comment by thetruththusfar

wow you started off this post about obama. i kinda forgot. instead i laughed bc 1. you called a norebang a “singing room” instead of well, karaoke. and 2. you said BLAST! haha your year in england is still with you. have you lost your british accent yet? lol. errmm 3. remember yoo-rin apologized to those little clams in my girl? sob… i want a boy. but i want a stable job and money more right now. ok that’s all, other people can read this shit. lol 🙂

Comment by roomie




Leave a Reply

